Missouri Speeding Tickets: What the Courts Want You to Know

Missouri Speeding Tickets: What the Courts Want You to Know

Why Missouri Courts Hammer down on Motorcycle Speeding

There are 574 motorcycle crashes in Missouri due to speeding, as per the 2017 Records by the Missouri State Highway Patrol. 52 of which lead to untimely deaths.

Of course, tickets can happen to the most cautious and prudent driver. The sometimes misplaced zeal can lead to unnecessary ticketing that a motorist can avoid or minimize.

Each state has a system of traffic points assigned for every speeding ticket.

Specifically, Missouri assigns 3 points if you drive more than 5 MPH over the limit for a state speed limit. If you drive more than 5 MPH, you get 4 points.

4 points will lead to an advisory letter stating that you may lose driving privileges.

Getting 8 points within 18 months will lead to the suspension of your license for 30 days. 12 or more points in 24 months will lead to the loss of your driver’s license for a year.

Not only are you in danger of losing the freedom to drive your motorcycle, but you also have to pay fines that you feel are unjust.

Auto insurance companies also charge higher premiums for a speeding ticket. Typically, a speeding ticket can increase your auto insurance by 10% in Missouri, which can be quite costly.

Also, some insurance companies can:

  1. Upon renewal of your policy, increase your deductibles,
  2. Lesser coverage for an insurance claim,
  3. Possibility of non-renewal of the auto insurance policy.

Tickets typically stick on your record for 3 years. Within those 3 years, you will experience higher insurance premiums.

What Can You Do to Dismiss a Speeding Ticket in Missouri?

Take A Driver Improvement Course

Luckily, the state allows drivers to take a driver improvement course to dismiss a motorcycle speeding ticket.

However, you must ask permission from the court first and find out if you qualify.

Calling the County Clerk can give you more specific information as to the venue, time and expense.

The course can take around 4 to 8 hours, which is a considerable time investment. Also, if a driver already took the Driver Improvement Course, the state has the discretion to reject this privilege, especially if the driver previously finished the course within 12 to 24 months.

Ask for a Recommendation

By recommendation, we mean an offer by the prosecutor to change the violation.

Typically, the prosecutor gives a legal recommendation at his or her discretion.

Here, the traffic violation can be changed where the driver no longer has traffic violation points. However, he or she gets a higher fine.

This can be a better option compared to a speeding ticket that can jack up insurance prices.

Take note that the prosecutor may have many cases to oversee, which can lead to recommendations taking 1 to 2 months before receipt.

By that time, most insurance companies may already change their premiums and benefits.

Rather than risk the time waiting, a motorist can talk to an attorney specializing in Missouri Traffic law. A specialist can communicate with the prosecutor and cut the wait time substantially.

Avoid risking and wasting time, resources and effort when you can have better chances at dismissing a speeding ticket or getting a better and faster recommendation.

Beat a motorcycle speeding ticket by partnering with Traffic Counsel.

If you or someone you know needs help with any traffic concerns in Missouri, contact Traffic Counsel to get a great price and expert insights about speeding tickets, DUI and other traffic issues.

Related posts